Round 3 of the 400 Thunder Sportsman Series was run in extremely hot and challenging conditions at Willowbank Raceway on December 1st with competitors from three States adding to their points tallies.

In the combined Super- Comp bracket Jason Simpson claimed the Gold Christmas Tree in his G/GA Ford Probe over defending champ Wade Moran’s A/APA Monte Carlo. Now with back to back wins, Simpson has commenced the 2018-19 Super Stock Series in the best possible way. Although running in a combined bracket, Competition and Super Stock racers score points toward their separate championships with defending Comp Champion, Mike Bailey now leading that series after his semi-final loss at Willowbank.

Brandon Gosbel had the perfect day in SCG Electrical Comp Bike top qualifying on his Suzuki and resetting the AA/AB National Record on his way to claiming the win and series points lead over Shaun Soboll AA/CBI Suzuki.

Victorian racer Ryan Van Dyk was rewarded for making the trip north claiming the win in Donnelly Blasting Services Supercharged Outlaws in his dragster over Fiona Reed also in a rear engine dragster. Things are very tight at the top in the points for this popular category with Van Dyk leading a group of five drivers currently separated by just 30 points.

Defending Top Sportsman Champion, Steve Fowler suffered a shock first round loss in a double breakout against Michael Braggs who eventually fell in the semi-finals. Daniel Morris claimed the final and series points lead in his Holden Statesman when Matthew Barron left a slender .013 redlight on the tree in the Chev Beretta.

Phil Youlten got the gold in Mick’s Towing Service Super Sedan in his Torana over the breaking out Fairliane of Mitchel Bauer. After three rounds of the championship Dave Foreman currently leads the series from Daniel List and Patrick Baron.

2017 400 Thunder Champion, Stephan Gouws was back in the winner’s circle in Knijff Earthmoving Modified Eliminator in his dragster when Jason Vanderlinda redlit by just one thousandth of a second in the final and had to settle for runner-up. North Queensland’s Luke Hutcheson added 40 points at the event to his win haul from the opening round at Springmount Raceway to lead the series.

A strong field faced the starter in Prime Signs & Speed Elec Super Street with Shaun Doeblein winning five tough rounds to claim the gold in his Falcon over Daniel harms Chevelle. Doeblein’s win puts him fifth on the points table 50 points behind current leader Michael Foster.

Sports Turf Services Modified Bike produced an all out of town final as New South Welshman Joe Khoury improved on his runner-up at the East Coast Thunder by riding his Harley Davidson V-Rod Destroyer to victory over Mackay’s Lisa Skinner on her Honda. STS Racing team mates and current joint pace setters, Michael Beaton and Mick Mundey both went out in round two and now lead the title chase by just ten points from yet another STS Racing team member Allan Annis Jnr with Joe Khoury in fourth.

In Wallace Bishop’s Loyal Watches Junior Dragster Victoria’s sole representative, Daniel Carranza topped qualified with a strong 8.01 before breaking out in round three beside eventual finalist Josh Langridge. A .010 redlight saw Langridge have to settle for runner-up as Kyle Magner claimed the 400 Thunder Gold Christmas Tree in his B/JD. The victory puts Magner third on the leaderboard behind Nicholas Polito and Harrison Thwaite.

Full event round results are available at

Current 400 Thunder Series Points can be seen at